On the north side of the Five Mile River near Stone Road is what remains of Daniels Village. The area also is referred to as Warsaw. Only the dam and the stone mansion are still intact, although foundations of other buildings and tenements are visible. This archeological site is listed in the National Register of Historic Places as it was one of the first textile mills in Connecticut.
The area was first settled in the 1700s. By 1800 it was known as Talbot’s Mills. In 1814, the well-established mill site was purchased by the Killingly Manufacturing Company for a cotton mill. The Daniels family bought the property in 1845 when it then became known as Daniels Village. Although the familiar names of the larger settlements are Ballouville and Pineville, Yosemite Valley also has a picturesque name.
Ballouville developed around the mill constructed by Leonard Ballou and his father-in-law, Jabez Amsbury. The two men bought Asa Alexander’s corn mill and water privilege on the Five Mile River and converted it to a cotton mill. This mill had several owners after that. It was purchased by Attawaugan Manufacturing in 1860. Powdrell & Alexander operated it from 1927 until the 1950s. In 1953 it was sold to Arawana Mills. Later, the mill was used by Hale Manufacturing for making specialty yarns. Ballouville boasts its own post office which has been housed in the Ballouville Store since 1882. The store was built circa 1854 and now houses the Ballouville Aquarium.
Originally the mill workers of Attawaugan and Ballouville attended the Attawaugan Methodist Church. However, as Catholic immigrants arrived in large numbers in the late 1800s, the Attawaugan Company acknowledged the change and donated land for the construction of a Catholic church in Ballouville. The church operated as a mission of St. Joseph’s of Dayville. The cornerstone is dated 1882 and was known as the Church of the Five Wounds and later St. Anne’s. The church was closed in 2010.
For many years Pineville was a popular tourist stop during the Christmas holidays. Mervin Whipple’s “Christmas Wonderland” provided a marvelous display of lights and animated figures for the delight of old and young. At other times of the year many couples came to Whipple’s Chapel to “tie the knot” in the unique stone chapel built using stone from all over the country.